by J.C. Hutchins


Yesterday, I released 7th Son: The Soundtrack, nearly 30 minutes of classical music inspired by my 7th Son technothriller trilogy. If you haven't already, you oughta take a listen.

The terrific music was composed by University of Rhode Island student Brandon Winrich, a talented young man who's set his eyes on someday creating musical scores for films, TV shows and video games. If his 7th Son music is any indication, Brandon won't have a problem finding work after graduation.

In addition to providing a recording of that evening's performance, Brandon gave me some incredible liner notes, packed with comments and artistic insights about the creation of 7th Son: The Soundtrack, all written by him. He was keen to share his creative commentary with my audience. I was happy to oblige, and designed a downloadable PDF for you.

A link to these liner notes is below. If you've ever wanted a behind-the-scenes peek at a composer's creative process, you should check it out.


Music: 7th Son - The Soundtrack by J.C. Hutchins


Early last month, I traveled from my Denver home to Rhode Island to meet Brandon Winrich, a music composition major at the University of Rhode Island. It was the conclusion of a remarkable artistic journey for him, and was a life-changing day for me -- a day three years in the making. In 2008, Brandon contacted me, asking for permission to compose orchestral music inspired by my 7th Son sci-fi thriller novel trilogy. As a lifelong fan of classical music, I was humbled and delighted ... and I gave Brandon the green light without reservation.

The following year, Brandon composed and helped perform Movement 1: Descenta 6:45 song inspired by the events in the first 7th Son novel. This was part of a project for his musical studies. In 2010, he paid similar homage to Deceit with another public performance. But this year, for his third and final 7th Son-inspired composition (and senior recital), Brandon emailed and asked if I might personally attend the live performance of movements 1 and 2 ... and a first-ever performance of Movement 3: Destruction. The trilogy of songs would be played by 10 musicians, and conducted by a URI graduate.

I booked the flight that night.

The audio file at the end of this post is a recording of that live performance. Click play, and you'll hear the work of a talented young man embarking on what can only be an incredibly successful artistic career. I am deeply touched and honored that anyone would be so inspired by my work to create something so compelling. I'm grateful Brandon allowed me to freely share this recording with you.

Here is a guide of the 7th Son Trilogy scenes Brandon re-created in this 25-minute performance. Note that movements -- each named after 7th Son novels -- are introduced by a long note played by horns ... the very hmmmmm "scene change" sound heard in the 7th Son podcast novels.

7th Son, Movement 1: Descent is comprised of 8 sections:

  1. "The president of the United States is dead.  He was murdered in the morning sunlight by a four-year-old boy."
  2. A Former Life
  3. Send in the Clones
  4. Descent / The Womb
  5. Contacting the Outside
  6. Following Alpha's Trail / "I Comply" / Hacking the CDC
  7. Showdown at Folie à Deux
  8. "It's Never Over"

7th Son, Movement 2: Deceit is comprised of 8 sections:

  1. John Alpha(s) and Special(k)
  2. Homecoming / To the Fallen
  3. Alert Status 1: Lockdown
  4. The Proto Womb
  5. Hack Back
  6. Prime Time
  7. Escape from Prophecy, Texas
  8. Wild Card / Tanker Chase / The Fifth Wheel

7th Son, Movement 3: Destruction is comprised of 12 sections:

  1. Killjoy
  2. 760 United Nations Plaza
  3. The Cavalry Arrives
  4. Catalyst
  5. A Fateful Ride
  6. Obsidian
  7. The Life and Times of Kilroy 2.0
  8. Return to the 7th Son Facility
  9. Commotion in the Common Room / The Madman's March
  10. The Final Battle
  11. Aftermath
  12. Epilogue – 6 months later

Tomorrow, I'll post a PDF of incredible liner notes, packed with comments and artistic insights written by Brandon himself. He was keen to share his creative commentary with you, and I am delighted to oblige.

Before I present the recording, I want to introduce you to the 10 musical performers of 7th Son: The Soundtrack. The musicians are URI students. The conductor is a URI alum. All are supremely talented.

  • Geri Muller -- Flute, Piccolo
  • Theresa Procopio -- Oboe, English Horn
  • Brandon Winrich -- Clarinet
  • Charles Larson -- Soprano Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone
  • Chelsea Anderson -- Trumpet
  • Erin Dawson & Michael Rayner -- Trombone
  • Benjamin Boisclair, Zachary Friedland & Christopher Vinciguerra -- Percussion
  • Stephen Grueb -- Conductor

I hope you are as dazzled by this three-movement performance as I was. It's further proof that 7th Son fans remain the greatest fans in the world.


Anyman EP Track 2: "Rockefeller Center" by J.C. Hutchins

Anyman Cover

"Rockefeller Center" is the second of six free folk songs from Anyman, written and performed by John Smith, which will be released on a weekly schedule here at

While a link to more songs was mentioned in John's 7th Son: 7 Days prequel story, J.C. wanted to provide all five songs to all 7th Son fans ... with a bonus track on the sixth week. Miami resident John Smith, a character in J.C.'s upcoming thriller 7th Son: Descent, is a man who dreams big ... but lives a small life. Determined to change his life's course, he recorded a five-song EP titled Anyman, and posted it to the Web. This occurred two weeks before the events seen in 7th Son: Descent.

Lyrics for this song appear beneath the audio player. Learn more about 7th Son: Descent’s print novel release here. Order your copy today.

"Rockefeller Center" Lyrics

You say it's a waste
Wasting my time
Maybe it's true
I hide behind rhymes

I can't defend
My wandering heart
Trapdoors and tripwire
In all that I start

If I stray from this meandering path
Just to keep you from fading into my past
Every kiss and embrace will be worse than worthless
We'll dig us a hole from running in circles
Hiding From my Rockefeller Center

My windmill to tilt
My albatross to train
I don't need you to get it
If it's all the same
Would you rather I thanked you
Or held you to blame?

I'm forever grateful for all you've endured
But you're like a reward that's also a lure
You made me go deep and before I could surface
I lost my way and mislaid my purpose
To find
My Rockefeller Center